Scott Wilson
Scott Wilson
Director of Jazz Studies, University of Florida

Scott Wilson is the Director of Jazz Studies at the University of Florida. Wilson has served as Musical Director for Universal Studios Japan, principle staff composer for Grand Link World in Qingdao, China and has been a featured jazz trumpet soloist for Tokyo Disney Sea.

Wilson’s jazz textbooks, the Ultimate Jazz Tool Kit and Ultimate Music Workbook, are available through Kendall Hunt Publishing and accompanied by 35 jazz instructional videos that cover topics ranging from jazz theory to song writing. Wilson’s published online jazz education platforms include Jazz Fundamentals 1, Jazz Fundamentals 2, Jazz Aural Skills and Jazz History.

Wilson has served as an Artistic Director for Caleb Chapman’s Super Band in Utah (multiple Downbeat winners) and now serves as Artistic Director for the LakeShore Music jazz series at the Tempe Center for the Arts in Arizona. As a producer, Wilson co-produced the “Earth Wind and Fire Tribute” album for the Sheldon Reynolds Project in Los Angeles.

Before arriving at the University of Florida, Wilson held the position of Director of Jazz Studies at Snow College in Utah, where he hosted four Juilliard Jazz Summer Workshops. In 2010 Wilson was selected to host the Gordon Goodwin Big Phat Camp at the University of Florida and this event culminated with a concert featuring the Gordon Goodwin Big Phat Band.

Wilson received a Master’s Degree in Jazz Studies and a Master’s Degree in Music Education from the University of North Texas. At the University of North Texas, he taught courses in Jazz Theory and performed in the One O’Clock Lab Band and served as Adjunct Faculty.

He has performed and/or worked with numerous jazz artists including Benny Green, Wayne Bergeron, Stevie Wonder, Jeff Coffin, Rashawn Ross, Conrad Herwig, Wycliffe Gordon, Shelly Berg, Roger Ingram, Steve Smith, Denis DeBlasio, Greg Bissonette, Brian Bromberg, John Beasley, Eric Miyashiro, Claudio Roditi, Sam Rivers, Terrell Stafford, Carl Allen, Peter Erskine, Eric Marienthal, Bobby Shew, Slide Hampton, Dick Oats, Brandon Fields, Lew Soloff, Ron Blake, Ben Wolfe, Terreon Gully, Geoffrey Keezer, Jeremy Pelt, John Pizzarelli, Chris Slade, Ed Shaughnessy, Robby Ameen, Alex Acuna, Dan Haerle, Neil Slater, Corey Christiansen, Ted Rosenthal and Fred Hamilton.